Shockers sign WSU’s Gore Scholarship recipient Derrick Holmes

Posted On April 29, 2014 – In Bowling Blog With No comment
2014WSUGoreScholarshipDerrickHolmes.jpg With over 250 students achieving Academic All American status throughout program history, Shocker Bowling prides itself on academics. Next semester, one of the Shockers will be the recipient of Wichita State University’s most prestigious scholarship, the $ 52,000 Harry Gore Scholarship.

Annually, the scholarship is given to two high school seniors based on leadership potential.

Derrick Holmes, a senior at Wichita High School Southeast in Wichita, Kan., competed for the Gore Scholarship against 328 contestants. Of those students, 52 qualified for the semi-finals and 11 for the finals. Alongside Holmes, Kevin Kraus of Wichita, Kan. was selected for the other Gore scholarship.

The picture shows Derrick Holmes, right, with WSU President John Bardo. Photo WSU.

Requirements for entry into the competition include a 3.5 cumulative GPA and a 24 composite on the ACT or a 1090 on the SAT.

“It feels so surreal,” Holmes said in the Sunflower, WSU’s student newspaper. “The competition was fierce. Any of the other finalists could be up here right now.”

Holmes, who will play on the Shocker Bowling selected team for the 2014-2015 season, plans on studying engineering. Last year he placed in the Kansas Youth Top Ten Majors (men), was selected for the ITRC (International Training and Research Center) Bowling Combine and was the Dexter High School All-American.

2012CoachesHoFGordonVadakin.jpgHolmes was given an additional honor recently, as he was chosen as the 2014 Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow, awarded annually to the top male young bowler in the country. He holds a high game of 300 and a high three-game series of 772.

The Shocker Bowling Program has been fortunate enough to attract twelve other Chuck Hall recipients since the start of the award in 1980. Some notable Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow award winners are PBA champions Justin Hromek (1985), Lonnie Waliczek (1989), and Sean Rash (2001), the 2011-12 PBA Player of the Year.

“We’re pleased to have Derrick in this program,” Head Coach Gordon Vadakin (pictured) said. “His academic work ethic and leadership ability will bring great things to our team.”

Kansas High School student Derick Holmes is Chuck Hall Award recipient

Leave a Comment